NZIER Economics Award for 2014 given to Professor Marilyn Waring

29 August 2014

Marilyn Waring, Professor of Public Policy at the Auckland University of Technology, was presented with the NZIER Economics Award for 2014 at NZIER’s AGM on Thursday 28 August.

The winner of this prestigious award is selected by an independent panel, sponsored by NZIER.

The NZIER Economic Award’s Operating Guidelines instruct the Awarding Panel to “look for outstanding contributions to the advancement of economics and its applications in New Zealand.To qualify for the Award a contribution “must advance economic matters of direct relevance to New Zealand and must be “likely to be of long-term lasting importance to New Zealand.

Past winners of the prize have included Dr Roderick Deane, Sir Frank Holmes, Dr Donald Brash, and Dr Brian Easton.

You can read the citation for Professor Waring here.

For further information please contact:

Michael Walls
NZIER Chairman
Phone: (04) 479 4194

Jessica Matthewson
Secretary to the Awarding Panel
Phone: (04) 470 1809 or 021 510 114

For further information on the NZIER Economics Award and past recipients see here.

Go Back