NZIER is an independent economic consultancy.

Economics Award

Nominations for the NZIER Economics Award 2018 are now open

The annual NZIER Economics Award promotes and recognises excellence in economics of relevance to New Zealand.

The Award

The winner of the 2018 NZIER Economics Award will receive:

  • a $10,000 travel voucher
  • $5,000 associated spending money
  • a framed citation and award trophy.

The award will be presented at the NZIER AGM and dinner in August.


Those who currently practise or previously practised applied economics, economic dissemination or economic policymaking in New Zealand or are involved in, or were involved in, economic work of direct relevance to New Zealand.

Practising economists include those involved in teaching or academic work, research, policymaking, business, journalism, and economic commentating. Nominees must be alive.


Nominations for the 2018 Economics Award close at 9am on Monday 16 July.

Anyone may nominate persons for the prize. Nominations must include the following:

  • a succinct statement (1-page maximum) describing the contributions of the nominee.
    This is a key part of the nomination material and should point to and specify the specific or general contributions made by the nominee affecting New Zealand. The statement should also indicate why the nominator believes the contributions will be of long term importance to New Zealand.
  • a completed nomination form
  • a curriculum vitae for the nominee (including two referees)
  • a copy of any relevant supporting material.

Nominations must be emailed to the Secretary to the Awarding Panel.

Useful information

The panel

The winner of the award is selected by an independent panel that includes the Governor of the Reserve Bank, the President of the NZAE, the Secretary for Treasury (or their nominees), representatives from the academic and business communities.

NZIER acts as secretariat and sponsor. Please see the award policy document for further information.

Previous recipients

Read about previous NZIER Economics Award winners.